Organizational Structure

Honor Society Organization and Administration

I. National Organization

Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc. (Phi U), national honor society in family and consumer sciences, was the first national student organization in family and consumer sciences. The governing power of the honor society is vested in a Conclave of Delegates from collegiate and alumni chapters which meets in even-numbered years. Conclave meetings are open to all initiated members of the honor society–collegiate, alumni, and honorary. The meeting time and place for Conclave are determined by National Council.

The National Council of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc. handles the administration of the honor society in the interim between Conclaves. Members of National Council include: President, President-Elect, Executive Director, Alumni Councilor, Advisor Councilor, Finance Chair, 4 Region Councilors, Collegiate Chair and Collegiate Representatives.

The National Council meetings are held annually at a time and place recommended by National Council. In Conclave years, it is customary to hold a meeting of National Council just prior to and immediately following Conclave.

The Executive Board conducts the affairs of the honor society between the meetings of National Council and Conclaves. The Executive Board consists of the National President, National President-Elect, Alumni Councilor, the Region Councilor Chair, the National Collegiate Chair, and the Finance Chair with the Executive Director serving as an ex-officio member.

Phi Upsilon Omicron participates in the Coordinating Council of Family and Consumer Sciences Honor Societies with Kappa Omicron Nu and is an active voting member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

II. Region Organization

All collegiate and alumni chapters are assigned to geographic regions, subject to change with changes in the honor society. Regions are represented on National Council by Region Councilors and Collegiate Representatives.

Refer to Bylaws

The Region Councilor serves as liaison between National Council and individual chapters by maintaining close contact with chapters in the region through visits, correspondence, and other forms of communication.

III. Chapters

Chapters of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc. have been established, through a petitioning process, at accredited institutions across the country offering a bachelor’s degree in family and consumer sciences. Each chapter consists of undergraduate and, in some cases, graduate student members.

Alumni chapters are composed of alumni and honorary members of the honor society. One of their roles is to provide support to nearby collegiate chapters.

IV. Phi Upsilon Omicron Educational Foundation, Inc.

The Phi Upsilon Omicron Educational Foundation, Inc. was incorporated in 1970 to administer the scholarships, fellowships, awards, and professional programs of the honor society. The Foundation stimulates collection of funds to support national scholarships, fellowships, and special awards, and serves as a vehicle to receive funds given by collegiate and alumni members and chapters as well as other individuals and groups.

The Educational Foundation is managed by a Board of Directors consisting of: four Directors elected at-large from the alumni membership; the National President-Elect; and one representative from collegiate chapters who is chosen by collegiate members of the National Council of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc. The Phi Upsilon Omicron Executive Director is a member of the Board of Directors.

The Directors-at-large are elected for terms of four years each; two of the four terms expire every two years on Conclave year, or as soon thereafter as a successor is elected. The national Nominating Committee of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc. shall present nominations for Directors-at-large for vote on the same ballot as for President-Elect of the honor society. No elected Director shall serve more than two consecutive terms. The collegiate representative shall serve for a term of two years.

The Board of Directors meet annually. Special meetings may be called at the request of the Chair or any three Directors. Each member of the Board of Directors shall be entitled to vote. There shall be no vote by proxy.

The elected officers of the Foundation shall include a Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary (typically the Executive Director of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc.). A Treasurer (i.e., the Executive Director of Phi Upsilon Omicron, Inc.) shall be appointed.